August 11, 2014

500 Posts

Posted in Fun Stuff, Life's Little Moments, My Take on Autism tagged , , , at 10:07 am by autismmommytherapist

029

Today is a milestone of sorts for me.  No, not the fun marriage kind, or a celebration of my kids’ births, or a more somber reckoning of someone who’s died.  Today I’m recognizing an achievenement of mine that in the early days of writing this blog I wasn’t certain would come to pass.

Today I’m posting for the 500th time.

I remember clearly four years ago when I still thought that “blogosphere” was a made-up word. Frankly I wasn’t certain I’d have that much to write about, or that anyone would care.  After all there were already a zillion autism bloggers out there, and I often wondered if I’d have anything novel to contribute.  Couple that with trying to keep the two autistic kids alive and I wasn’t certain I’d make it to this milestone, or even past a few weeks.

Well, it’s four-and-a-half years later, and I’m still here.

I fully admit I started writing in part as a means to vent (and when appropriate, to brag) and in part because I wanted to help other people with special needs kids navigate the often choppy waters of autism.  I’ve met some fantastic people along the way, and am so grateful for those who’ve taken time to comment of Patch and on my blog, many of whom have shown me so much support.

It turns out I needn’t have worried about finding things to write about- there is always something going on here, and that holds for the larger autism world too.  I hope to keep writing here through Justin’s adulthood, as I believe there will be a lot for me to say on this topic (I’m hoping in ten years the majority of it will be good.)

Before I end this post I just want to say thank you again to my readers for all their support.  It means the world to me when someone tells me they enjoyed a post, or particularly that it helped them get through a tough spot.  That’s the whole point of my carving out the time to do this, and it is a thrill to hear that I’ve helped someone.

Thank you again!

Follow me on Facebook at Autism Mommy-Therapist

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments »

  1. gail said,

    Congrats Kim. This is amazing. I love following you and have learned so much.cheers…..peace and love. ..Gail

  2. Louise van der Meulen said,

    Dear Kim,
    I have enjoyed and read just about every one of your 500 postings! You are an inspiration to me! I love how you’ve turned your challenges into blessings for other people. I will never forget being a student-teacher in your fourth grade class (before either of your boys were born!) and admiring the passion and compassion you had for kids who were struggling. Looking back, I believe that God was preparing you for what lies ahead. It probably does not make sense logically, but somehow that makes sense for me when looking at it from the perspective of eternity!

    • Louise, I so appreciate that coming from you, and thank you for your kind words. I also appreciate your time in reading all these! Thanks so much hon, have been thinking about you!

  3. Kerri said,

    Have I really known you that long? I remember when you started talking about the blog. Good for you! You kept the kids alive and posted 500 times! That’s an accomplishment! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

