March 29, 2010

Until We Meet Again

Posted in Fun Stuff tagged at 9:33 am by autismmommytherapist

Forgive me dear readers, as I diverge for a day from both autism and the shameless self-promotion of my manuscript. Instead, I’ve chosen to pay homage to a rite of passage with which we are all familiar. I am not referring to the impending American Idol finale, tax day, or my annual attempt at post-winter damage control on my thighs. No, I’m alluding to that fairly frequent event that invokes serious self-reflection, a measuring of one’s achievements to date, and an immediate renewal of that abandoned gym membership.

It’s High School reunion planning time.

Before I continue, let me take a moment to thank our class officers and co-counsel, Kate, Nancy and Courtenay, for taking many hours out of their busy lives for the thankless chore of trying to anticipate the needs of the 200ish individuals who comprised the Rumson-Fair Haven Regional class of 1985 (yes, I said EIGHTY-five). I am eternally grateful they’re even soliciting my input (so far I’ve suggested including alcohol, music and karaoke, because I’m eighth grade chorus good), and even more grateful they’re planning the damn thing. These three women are my heroes.

Truly, it’s a daunting task to create one of these events (trust me, I went to my husband’s five years ago, and our 20th reunion whipped their 20th reunion’s butt), and I am certain my classmates have high expectations. My educator parents moved to tiny and tony Fair Haven, New Jersey  when I was six-years-old, and it is still, as it was then, quite the demanding, intense environment to have spent one’s formative years. It was the kind of public high school where almost everyone attended a four-year college after graduation, we were all competitive as hell about our acceptances, and the discrepancy between the cars in the student parking lot and those in the faculty parking lot was almost criminal. Enough said.

While I’ve heard Facebook referred to as a virtual haven for married people to reconnect to hotties they wished they’d slept with in high school and college, I think high school reunions are those actual havens for unfulfilled fantasies of yore. I admit, I’m really looking forward to it. After all, what other event can permit one to reminisce for two seasons prior about that ex-boyfriend/unrequited love/ex hook-up (or all three simultaneously) without guilt?

Seven months and counting. Time to pluck, tease, tan (this is New Jersey after all) and sweat ourselves back into the Me Decade. Rock on 1985, rock on.

18 Comments »

  1. Kathy Milmore said,

    Okay… I’m keeping my mouth shut on this one.

  2. Courtenay Adams said,

    I’m right there with you! Of course, I have no old flames from our class to do major body enrichment for. However, I am looking forward to the ritual! We will make it fun–just being together after all of those years is enough for me to get excited. It is, at the very least, an excuse to go out and be free with old friends!!

    • I know. It is so fun to be around people from our class, some of whom I’ve known since I was six. We are so in this together, looking forward to it with you!

  3. M said,

    i was a band nerd in high school, so i avoided the 10 year reunion. i heard later that it was much fun, everyone seemed to have a good time, so they’re definitely fun (or at least interesting) events. but not a big draw for the alienated band nerds, who remember high school as a darwinian nightmare. i think for the 20 year reunion i’ll celebrate by staying home, taking an ambien and sleeping for a good 12 hours, konk out till the day is over.

    they never have college reunions, i guess the social realm is too dispersed, filled with too many people for that sort of thing, but i’d go to that. anyway, i ramble, good luck with the reunion prep.

    • I was of that rare species who actually liked high school, but I was still surprised by how fun the reunions have been. You never know… Thanks for responding!

  4. misifusa said,

    Rock on Kimi, rock on my friend. Love your blogs…xo

  5. Lorie said,

    I haven’t been to my high school reunion since my 15th – who knows, you may have inspired me to check out my next one and see how my high school crush has held up.
    Just don’t forget the “big hair” for your reunion (being that it is New Jersey after all)!

    • Hah! I’ll probably ask you to come babysit for it, then you can tease away! You have to go to your reunions, woman!

  6. Amy Ann said,

    This year is my 25th reunion so I know exactly how you are feeling. I hope yours Rocks!!!!

  7. Anita said,

    Oh well, such is life…something tells me I may not be at my prime just 2 months after having a baby…but boy will I be up for a night out with my girls and some WINE!

  8. Debbie said,

    Kim,
    I am sorry I haven’t responded before now, but you know how busy teachers are. I was shocked to hear that now you have a second child on the spectrum for autism, but I know how fortunate those two boys are to have a mother so dedicated. I remember when you lived here in Virginia and worked so hard with Justin. My daughter babysat him numerous times and LOVED every bit of it. I realize he was pretty young when you moved from Virginia and unfortunately she didn’t have the opportunity to work with him as he got older and to see him develop, but I can only imagine the progress he has made. I know you moved to Jersey to be with family and to be in the best place possible for Justin. Now that you have another child dealing with the same issues, you have the background and commitment to make him succeed as well. I need to kick myself for being too busy to respond to such a dedicated mother. My two children will never forget what an amazing teacher you were and our entire family is so grateful the two of them had you as one of their elementary school teachers. We knew then how special you are and our family is so blessed to have had the opportunity to know such a wonderful person! We know how hard you work and you will do whatever is necessary for your two boys. Keep up the good work with them. They are SO lucky to have a mother who works so hard and is so dedicated. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

    • Thanks Debbie! That means so much coming from you, an amazing mom and teacher. Thanks for responding!

      Kim

  9. Cindy said,

    I expect full details following “the event”.


Leave a Reply

