May 25, 2010

Gratitude Attitude, Tuesday Tips, and Thursday Guest Blogs

Posted in Fun Stuff tagged , , , at 9:02 am by autismmommytherapist

Hello to my faithful followers…

Since I’ve learned in life there really are no rules, I’ve decided to try something a little different on Tuesdays and Thursdays, as I’ve had criticism regarding the vast void that is generally mid-week on my blog. Since I’m confident (due to how time-consuming it is to actually keep two small children alive) that I won’t be producing more than three of my little missives weekly, I thought it might be nice to hear from some other bloggers as well. One rule I do adhere to is it’s nice to share…

So, on Tuesdays I’d like to repeat my Gratitude Attitude spot, and in part continue to thank and promote the women who have so kindly sprung me from complete technological illiteracy and dragged me, in my limited way, into the blogosphere. I’m going to couple Gratitude Attitude with Tuesday Tips as well, a column which will feature a different subject weekly as well as a variety of contributors. Contributors may remain anonymous, or I will happily print your name/website/business as well.

On Thursdays (I know, you’re on the edge of your seat, admit it) I’d like to invite guests to submit a blog entry of their choice which may or may not relate to that week’s Tuesday tips. I’ve been asked if I have guidelines, and at this point I’d have to say just please make the selection slightly less wordy than “War and Peace”, and appropriate for public consumption. I am welcome to contributions for both spots from moms (or dads!) of children with disabilities who are not on the spectrum as well.

One last caveat…through my Tuesday and Thursday spots I’d like to provide a more widespread forum for parents of children with disabilities to provide more practical tips for other parents, and a place to share their views on raising a child with a disability as well. These contributions will be their ideas and stories, and not necessarily reflect the viewpoints of those of autismmommytherapist.

Gratitude Attitude

First and foremost, many thanks to my faithful readers and “responders”.  I know your time is limited, and I truly appreciate the effort!

I’d like to thank Mary Lachenauer-Craig from POAC for foisting my blog on practically everyone she’s known since birth, and for encouraging me to ask for favors from people I’ve never met before. Thanks Mary!

To my Facebook facilitators, Yvonne Deane, whose prowess on this social network impressed even my husband (and that’s saying something), and to a wonderful author, Kaitlin O’Riley, (http://www.kaitlinoriley.com/) for answering all of my inane follow-up questions.

There were many.

To Cindy Toomey, who convinced me that chat rooms weren’t so scary after all.

The blogs listed below are written by women who have either promoted my own writing, or given me suggestions on how to increase my following. Some of these blogs pertain to or are also written about children with disabilities, and some are just great fun to visit. I highly recommend taking a peek:

http://styleepiphany.com

http://angiemarion.blogspot.com

http://www.mommadjane.com

http://roostercalls.blogspot.com/

http://nowelcometoautismwhatnow.blogspot.com/

http://www.peacewithautism.com

http://achildwrites.com/

The last site was kind enough to feature one of my entries last month, and is a safe and exceptionally cool place for children to not only have virtual pen-pals, but to enact some good in the world as well. I recommend taking a look at this site, it would be a wonderful resource for teachers as well as parents.

Tuesday Tips:  “Three Things I Wish I’d Been Told by my pediatrician on Diagnosis Day”

(from LZ, a parent of a child on the autism spectrum)

1)  This is not your fault. It will not be easy, and is scary, but you can do this.

2)  Get hold of your Early Intervention intake coordinator today. Here’s the       number.

3) Educate yourself now, and as much as possible, on this diagnosis. You are going to have to be the expert/advocate for your child. You are the one with the vested interest in seeing him/her do well, and you are the one that is going to have to navigate the system and get him/her what he needs. Find a developmental pediatrician.

Tuesday Tips:  “Three Things I Wish I’d Been Told by my pediatrician on Diagnosis Day”

(from Babette Zschiegner, a parent of an autistic child, and a coach)

www.peacewithautism.com/

1) There is support out there… here is the name of a mom (or coach) that you can contact if you are feeling overwhelmed or just need to talk.

2) Things change. Some kids do improve and some even lose their diagnosis all together. Things your child can’t or won’t do now can all of a sudden become his favorite thing in the world (like my son who couldn’t stand the feel of sand on his feet now would spend the entire day at the beach if he could).

3) Even though you’ve just been given this diagnosis… your child is not the diagnosis… he/she is the same beautiful boy/girl on the inside. He/she is a unique individual with many gifts to share with the world and they might just end up teaching you a few things along the way!  So hold on tight this journey will be full of ups and downs but try and accept and appreciate every moment!

11 Comments »

  1. misifusa said,

    Gratitude goes to you for reaching out with your expertise and helping so many others with your knowledge, kindness, empathy and patience. xo

  2. Anita said,

    Wonderful ideas! I look forward to reading these 2 days of new entries and in also checking out your compatriot bloggers!

  3. Kaitlin O'Riley said,

    Thanks, Kim! Your blog is amazing!

  4. Nels said,

    Kim, you are doing great and I think it is a great idea. Good ole LZ and I will be down to visit the first week of July.

  5. Michele Ireys said,

    (re: LZ’s #2) I wish upon all of you who are blessed with a challenged child, a strong Early Intervention Team Leader that loves her/his job, and is GREAT at it.

  6. Mary Craig said,

    Kim,
    It’s really my pleasure to help in any way that I can. I simply reached out to some of my friends who have Autistic kids or believe in my family’s fight for our kids. I promised my son and myself shortly after his slide into silence that I wouldn’t stop talking until he could again. Our Angels’ voices are being stolen from a great many of them; they inspire me to get up everyday and renew my fight for them.
    I do that by fundraising for Parents of Autistic Children and giving our families opportunities to get out into the community and feel accepted. I do that by grabbing the hand of the new mom I see struggling in the deep end without a life preserver. I also do it by taking the time to educate the “gawkers” who think my child is badly behaved when he just doesn’t do well waiting sometimes. Everyone does it their own way in ways they’re ready to do it and I’m simply applauding you for being so eloquent, fearless and open while saying what so many of us often feel. I have faith in what you’re doing Kim and am anxious to see what the future brings. Kudos for your bravery!

    • Mary, that was seriously the nicest and most eloquent response to one of my posts EVER! Thank you! You are helping so many families with your actions, our entire community is so fortunate.


Leave a Reply

