December 19, 2010

The Santa Clause

Posted in If You Need a Good Laugh, Life's Little Moments tagged , , , , , , , , , , , at 9:09 pm by autismmommytherapist

Last week my husband came downstairs, grabbed a diet Dr. Pepper and some GF/CF Swedish fish that are supposed to be Zachary’s, and proclaimed that something momentous had just occurred. No, Bristol Palin didn’t win Dancing with the Stars the night before (NOBODY puts Baby in a corner). No, he hadn’t discovered his impending end-of-year bonus check would cover not only  Christmas, but those insanely expensive “sexy boots” I’ve been eyeing online for weeks now. And no, Justin didn’t recite the Pledge of Allegiance or sing “Pants on the Ground” to him before he got on the bus this morning. The truth is, I’m referring to a far more modest miracle, one that has a direct impact on our family.

Mall Santa is in the house.

Due to the fact that my kids have special needs, they will each have approximately 5,000 opportunities to meet and greet with Santa this year. There’s the Challenger party, the Elks bash, and a wonderful little shindig near our local aquarium that includes not only his Jolly Lordship but FREE CANDY (you all SO know I’m going to that one). There will be multiple chances for Justin to look bored and fix me with his infamous “REALLY mom?” stare, and for Zach to let his eyes well up with tears in such dramatic fashion that any soap opera star would be proud. We’ll attend as many sightings as we can, but for me the big kahuna, the “REAL” Santa, will always be the portly dude smelling slightly of nicotine, situated somewhere between Macy’s and Victoria’s Secret, just like when I was a kid.

Hell, I gave birth. It’s my God-given right to use my children to relive some of my childhood, isn’t it?

After Jeff made his pronouncement we both ignored the fact that it was still November, that in Zachary’s terms we hadn’t even “put away” Thanksgiving yet, and whipped out our planners (yes, my husband’s is electronic, and I still use a slate and chalk). I remembered Jeff was taking the day before the holiday as a vacation day, and since both kids had half days then we figured we could get them off the bus, throw on their “pretty” clothes, and drag them to the car before they knew what had hit them.

I assumed Zach would be enthralled with the idea as Santa is all he talks about these days, and Justin would tolerate the trip as long as he got a bagel at Starbucks and a ride on the faux roller coaster our local mall houses. Since both of their parents would be there, we figured one of us could save Santa’s beard if Justin was not excited by our choice of outing (my eldest child is not a big fan of facial hair), and if we had to spirit him away Zach could still regale his idol with his Christmas list (and a long, long, list it is). We finalized our plans, I ripped the remainder of Zach’s treats out of my husband’s hungry hands, and began to anticipate how excited my little guy would be when we told him his Santa sighting would be tomorrow. I also reminded myself to have patience when he asked me 500 times if it was “tomorrow yet”.

The next day dawned, and Zach of course remembered our plans for the day, even trying to “reason” with me that Santa would rather see him first thing in the morning, so he should not go to school. I didn’t have the heart to tell him Santa was either asleep or on Stair Master at this hour, so I fibbed and told him Rudolph had a cold, he’d been delayed, and we’d have to wait a few hours.

It turns out lying to your kids is really fun.

After a few more years (hours) of bargaining I finally got both boys off to school, had a taste of a “life”, and packed the eight thousand items necessary for our field trip to shopping mecca. What seemed like five minutes later I heard the “beep,beep,beep” of the bus backing up as it overshot our driveway, and I rushed out with excitement, expecting to see an ecstatic boy launch himself into my arms and yell “it’s tomorrow Mom!” with glee. Instead, I watched as Zach’s exit required the assistance of the aide for the entire length of the bus, culminating in a stand-off at the top of the stairs as he refused to grip the safety handle. When I asked if he’d had a bad day he simply uttered a “HARRUMPH!” complete with crossed arms, proclaimed himself a “BAD BOY!!” without a hint of remorse, and reluctantly lowered himself onto the asphalt and trudged his way back to our home.

Ho.Ho.Ho.

After five minutes of witnessing our youngest child engaged in a snit that made my worst PMS episodes look tame, Jeff and I contemplated canceling. I then broached the subject with Zach and was met with a cascade of tears that would have made Niagara Falls proud, and since we’d promised him, we sucked it up and said we’d go. I had a feeling we would deeply regret our decision.

I was right.

We placed both boys in the car, and Jeff quickly found some Christmas carols on Sirius. I relaxed a bit in the driver’s seat, somewhat secure in the knowledge that Zach loves any form of transportation, and whatever tirade he was immersed in would probably disappear within minutes of playing “Look for Christmas Crap” (yes, I leave out the last word when I refer the game to him). The Chipmunk song was just ending (thank God) and Taylor Swift was about to commence a lovely rendition of “Oh Holy Night” when I heard “HARRUMPH!” again from the back seat, and looked back in time to see the crossing of the arms that means that good times are to come.

Here are the transcripts from the next few minutes in our car. Nobody will be subpoenaing them any time soon:

Mom:  “Zach, do you want to sing a Christmas song?”

Zach:  “NO, NO CHRISTMAS SONGS, THEY’RE TOO SLOW!”

I figure I can beat him at this game. I’ve got forty-plus years of Christmas carols on the little bugger after all.

Mom:  “How about Jingle Bells then?”

Zach:   “NO, THAT’S TOO FAST!”

Of course it is. Stupid, stupid Mama.

Jeff, trying valiantly to change the subject, chimed in “Zach, are you excited to see Santa?” and was rewarded for his efforts with “NO, I DON’T WANT TO SEE SANTA, I’M A BAD BOY’, which at the moment, is the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Because we’re already annoyed with ourselves for trying this trip anyway we decide to play with him a bit, see if we can cajole him out of this foul mood, and amuse ourselves in the process. Since I’m not sure we’re going to make it to Starbucks I realize this might be the highlight of my day.

“Zach, want to see Rudolph?”

“NO!!!”

“How about Donner, Blitzen and the rest of the reindeer posse?”

“NO!!”

“How about Elmo?”

Pause, then “NOOOO!”

“Conan?”

“NOOOO?”

“Clooney?” (hint, that one was mine).

“NO,NO,NO!!!!!!!!!! (he may not be my son).

We eventually made it to our destination, and true to form Justin blithely ignored St. Nick and tried to abscond with most of the fake presents surrounding him, and Zach displayed almost as much desire to sit with Santa as he does when confronted with his potty seat. I won’t get my fabulous photos this year, but I’ll leave you with a far more festive group of pictures from “happy Christmas past”.

And to all of you going to see “Mall Santa” this year, please don’t forget to mention I, however, have been a very, very, very good girl.

10 Comments »

  1. Kathy M said,

    Such cute photos! And you have been a very good girl!

  2. misifusa said,

    That is a gorgeous pic! WOW!! Great looking son and Santa! HO Ho HO

  3. Cathy said,

    “Due to the fact that my kids have special needs, they will each have approximately 5,000 opportunities to meet and greet with Santa this year.”

    You are lucky! My son is 9 and this is the first year that we’ve been invited to an event where the jolly old elf arrived. And despite the fact that Santa had (concealed) breasts and a Caribbean accent (truly) my son was enthralled with (his) lush flowing beard.

    Still not brave enough to attempt the (Christmas Grail) Mall Santa..well, you had to be there to see the flailing, pushing, high fiving that justifiably alarmed the kiddos waiting their turns…but maybe if we’d had 5,000 opportunities before now, we’d be golden! Nah, not really. But hurray you do have photographic evidence of golden times past!

    • Believe me, I know we’re fortunate. This stems from living in an area where it seems everybody has a kid with special needs. It is indeed a bonus. Your Santa experience sounds hilarious (really, concealed breasts?), and I understand not wanting to try Mall Santa. We try to go on his first day, sometimes before Thanksgiving, and eliminate the crowd factor. I’ve found Santa to be a lot more forgiving before December. Hope you get that experience some day, truly!

  4. Jen said,

    hilarious Kim!!

  5. Amber said,

    What a beautiful Santa! And a beautiful boy!


Leave a Reply

