January 11, 2011

“They Like Me, They Really Like Me”

Posted in Fun Stuff tagged , , , , , , at 9:29 pm by autismmommytherapist

So, last week I became a recipient of the “Stylish Blogger Award”, which doesn’t carry quite as much weight as a Pulitzer, but to me is a far more substantial win than that trophy I took home for second place in the seventh grade spelling bee (damn that “j” in pejorative). I was particularly tickled to receive it on two counts, the first being that it was awarded to me by a blogger who pens Professor Mother Blog, whose writing I’ve recently discovered and found to be quite insightful, honest, and funny (pretty much my prerequisites for anyone I read these days). The second reason I was pleased was that I found myself in quite illustrious company with the other award recipients, who were Diary of a Mom, Elvis Sightings, and unOtherOne, respectively.

Of course, my delight lasted approximately thirty-two seconds as I realized part of accepting the prize (okay, completely fake award, but work with me here) would mean responding to it on my own blog. This wasn’t an issue per se, but said response would also have to include cutting and pasting of images, and Dare I Speak Its Name, the creation of several hyperlinks. Given that there was the strong possibility my husband might be out-of-town by the time I got around to posting this, I have to admit I was a bit worried about my acceptance speech.

Look, I’m only insecure about technology, driving, and cooking (although the latter is more of an aversion that borders on learned helplessness). Hell, I’m a firm believer that we all have something.

Anyway, I’m giving this a try, and in order to fully accept my prize I am required to post seven things you don’t already know about me, then tap three (okay, I chose four, sue me) other bloggers and pass this award off to them. So ladies and gentlemen, read on (I know, the suspense is killing you):

1) While I was a fairly mediocre French major (although gifted at European café-drinking and train travel), I remain completely fluent in “Ubby-Dubby” (Ubif yubou dubon’t bublubieve mube, gubive mube uba cuball).

2) When holed up in my room as a child (probably blowing off my homework) I read every piece of sci-fi I could get my hands on (Ray Bradbury, you will always have a little piece of my teen-aged heart).

3) I am (sort of) double-jointed. It is not nearly as interesting as it sounds.

4) My favorite pre-married New Year’s Eve was spent at a Hofbrauhaus with my travel-pal-Sal in Munich when I was twenty, where there really was no language barrier a good lager couldn’t transcend.

5) While I have serious issues with organized religion and deeply question the existence of an afterlife (as in REALLY, can’t I just sleep through eternity, is that SO MUCH TO ASK), I am however completely convinced there are ghosts, and watch Ghost Hunters with complete fascination even when it’s not Halloween.

6) I’d tell you my two favorite foods, but I think it’s pretty clear by now what they are (HINT: one contains cocoa, one is poured).

7) When I am pissed-off at the world I get in my car and rock out to tunes from Evita, Stevie Nicks, and “Lady Marmalade” from Moulin Rouge. I find it is impossible to stay angry for long when singing a song about prostitutes at the top of my lungs.

I am going to diverge from the “rules” a bit and pass this along to a few of my faves, and am choosing only one autism site. The rest are blogs/sites that have nothing to do with autism or disabilities per se:

There’s No Welcome to Autism Packet, What Now?

Style Epiphany

A Simple Kinda Life

KaitlinORiley

The first three women were incredibly helpful to me when I first started out in the blogosphere, and although I didn’t understand most of the suggestions they offered to increase my traffic, the ones I was able to decipher did make a difference. They are also lovely people and have fun sites, check them out when you can.

The last woman on this list happens to be one of my nearest and dearest from high school on, and is a fantastic (and published!) writer. Her genre is historical romance, I love her work, and recommend her highly. Aside from being a good read, her books are a fantastic escape, something we all need once in a while (or, if you’re me, quite often).

So check these sites out when you can, and thanks again Professor Mother Blog!

4 Comments »

  1. profmother said,

    Richly deserved award!
    Gypsy, Tramps and Thieves must be on your singing list, too! 🙂

    And I’m LMAOROTF at “Ubbie Dubbie- I vaguely remember that, and clearly had no skill at it!

    Thanks for the site references- I look forward to reading new blogs!

    • Thanks again, Stevie’s really the fave! I truly appreciate the nod, it’s really nice to have “met” you! Enjoy the new sites!

  2. misifusa said,

    Congrats to you! Keep up the great work! So exciting!


Leave a Reply

