May 11, 2011

“The House on Hurley Pond Road”, Review Part Two

Posted in Fun Stuff tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 8:59 am by autismmommytherapist

A couple of months ago I wrote a “pre-review”  about a book called “The House on Hurley Pond Road”, written by a compelling local author named Darren Fitzgerald. I “plugged” him prior to reading his actual work because he has generously deemed a portion of his profits to POAC (Parents of Autistic Children), and when I found out he’d be at the first POAC walk-a-thon, I hoped the post would encourage people to take it upon themselves to meet him. I’ve since had the opportunity to actually read his work (I ordered it all by myself on Amazon, I know you’re proud), and would just like to say a few words about the writing now that I’ve had the pleasure of perusing his book.

Frankly, it scared the crap out of me.

As I mentioned before, I’m no newbie to the horror genre, having read multiple Stephen King books to their tattered ends as an adolescent, and I’ve steeled myself through any number of terrifying movies as well. I’ve never quite gotten over Linda Blair’s psychotic twirling (a fear only intensified while living a mile from the Georgetown apartment in which it was filmed), but for the most part, I’m fairly immune to the “scary stuff”. This time however, I’m not sure if it was the writing style, which was compelling, or the constant action, which was riveting, or the fact I drive by the street in which his house was located at least once a week. The truth is, I couldn’t put it down, didn’t even skip to the end to see what I predicted would be a horrifying outcome, as I am wont to do.

Honestly, I ignored my kids to finish it.

For the most part, my ability to read is confined to a period between 8:30 and 8:45 PM, that vast expanse of time which encompasses two (in theory) sleeping children, and my last remaining minutes of coherent consciousness (suffice it to say, Barnes and Noble isn’t making much money off of me these days). It’s not really possible for me to read when the kids are home, what with Justin needing constant second-to-second surveillance and Zach constantly asking me to take on the role of various dinosaurs I’ve never heard of, but for this book, I broke all the rules. I brought it into the laundry room with me between loads, and stole a couple of minutes there. I engulfed a few pages while playing hide-and-seek with my youngest (guess who got to hide, and who got to “count silently” in her head). Of course, it came into the bathroom with me, and on more than one occasion my husband had to rip it out of my hands so he could “tell me something” (but really, what’s more important than poltergeists?).

Clearly, I loved it.

Darren, who is not only a contributor to POAC, but appears to be a really nice guy (and if I’m going to blow off my kids to read somebody’s book, that’s important to me as well), will be promoting his work at the Monmouth County Mall’s Barnes and Noble on Saturday, May 21st, at 7:00 PM. If I wasn’t putting my own little demons to bed, I’d be there, and I encourage you to make the time if you can to go say hello, and purchase his book (if you dare!). It’s nice these days not only to discover a good read, but to know the author behind it is a good person too.

Thanks again Darren for contributing to POAC, and best of luck!

6 Comments »

  1. Misifusa said,

    I’m too frightened of scary books to read this, but I have heard good reviews from many people around town who have read it and then driven down Hurley Pond Road…indeed…interesting stuff.
    So happy he’s contributing to POAC! Go Darren!

  2. Karen said,

    I met him on Easter at a friends house and he’s a really nice nice and interesting guy. I am going to download his book on my nook this weekend. It’s awesome he contributes to POAC.

  3. Mom said,

    I read it at your house while babysitting and stayed up late until it was finished. And I don’t like scary books–never read Stephen King–saw the Shining and had nightmares for weeks!!!!! But it was a great read, and while it creeped me out, it was worth the “scare”. I wish him luck with it.

  4. Vickie said,

    Darren or “Duke” as we call him at work really truly is a gd guy 🙂 he has a heart of gold and an intense imagination though this story was more memory than imagination lol. I have read it three or four times and can’t wait for the next two books he is editing. If you haven’t read it you’re missing out! Also keep your fingers crossed…they are talkin movie talk 🙂


Leave a Reply

