June 25, 2011

Baby Steps

Posted in Life's Little Moments, My Take on Autism tagged , , at 12:14 pm by autismmommytherapist

Such tiny paths to progress, one would be hard-pressed to notice.

My eldest breaking free of his sitter, post-roller coaster, just long enough to gently squeeze my arm, and search my eyes to see if I had watched him soar.

Zachary lowering his head to his sibling’s lap without prompting, his brother not only tolerating, but welcoming the touch.

Justin’s hand gently ruffling his brother’s head, the slightest slip of a smile gracing his face as he finishes.

Such small gifts. Neither recovery, nor “normalcy”, words which have ceased to retain their meaning for me. Just simple moments to validate that both boys are safe, happy, and relate to one another. It’s not what I longed for years ago.

But these moments are still something, fleeting and fragile as they are. I hope I always take the time to see them.

6 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    I hope you always have the time to see them. The schedule you keep is amazing daughter, and those sweet fleeting moments are the results of all those efforts. You deserve to see each one and savor them.

  2. Misifusa said,

    Kimi…that’s the secret of a happy life…to see those special moments in our busy lives and be grateful for them. To notice those small gifts and know that we are, for the moment, blessed beyond words. I love this post. xo

  3. Kathy said,

    You know what they say, good things come in small packages. I think all these small steps will add up to something big. Enjoy each moment of them!


Leave a Reply

