April 11, 2012

POAC Autism Services Walk-a-thon 2012

Posted in Life's Little Moments tagged , , , , , , at 8:57 am by autismmommytherapist

Yup. It’s that time of year again where I hit up people for money.

I know. I’m already asking people to come to my play to support POAC Autism Services, and really, I should just shut up now. The truth is however, while I hope my little artistic endeavor generates a veritable boatload of money for my favorite autism organization, there are a number of fundraising walk-a-thons coming up which traditionally provide the lion’s share of their income. Since POAC receives absolutely no state or federal grants, they rely predominantly on this handful of events so that they can continue to offer training, services, and recreational events at little or no cost to the autism community.

And even if you have no connection to anyone with a child with autism, it’s still a great way to exercise.

Due to the fact that I’m producing, directing and acting in a play I wrote just weeks before our local event (yup, insert second shameless plug here) I will not be putting together my own team this year. My lack of initiative to form one is also due to the fact that since we moved back to New Jersey, pretty much everyone we know has their own child with autism, and will be walking for him or her on their own team.

So this year I’m glomming onto the team of my friends Mary and Scott Craig, both of whom work tirelessly to support the efforts of POAC. Mary serves on the POAC Board, and both husband and wife spend tremendous amounts of time helping to put together fundraisers to keep the organization going. It’s an honor to walk with them, and for their son Will.

Plus, I just like them.

So, if you’re looking to make a donation to a fantastic organization, or wish to honor a child or family dealing with autism, please see the link below to my walk-a-thon web page. I’ll be participating in the Lakewood BlueClaws event on May 5th with Zach and my friend Cindy, who has also generously offered her time this year. And if contributing is not an option, please consider coming out to any of the five walks listed on the POAC website, and simply show your support.

Trust me, autism on any level is not an easy road. We’d really appreciate it.

I’ll get off my soapbox now, and go feed my hungry kids. Before I go I’d like to share one final thought- that POAC Autism Services has had a direct and profound influence on my children’s education, leisure time, and their happiness. They have done the same for numerous families throughout New Jersey as well. I am truly grateful for their existence, and for all the services they provide.

And for anyone who makes a contribution of any kind, I’d like to extend my heartfelt thanks and gratitude

My POAC walk-a-thon web page

1 Comment »

  1. Kathy said,

    You go, girl!


Leave a Reply

