October 17, 2013

Brick SEPTA Meeting/Halloween Fest

Posted in Fun Stuff, Life's Little Moments tagged , , , , at 6:13 pm by autismmommytherapist

Sum 11 thru Oct 11 034
As I help Justin up that first big step of the slide inflatable he so adores I see a witch whip by me out of the corner of my eye, and hear Zach gasp with delight. Pretty soon a young Luke Skywalker queues up in front of me for his turn, and Zach dashes off with his father in tow for the far more challenging inflatable maze which has caught his interest.

I soon capture on film my son’s joyous face as he hurtles down to greet me, and we are off to collect his brother. My youngest asks “what’s next?” and I lay out his choices for him- a hayride, pumpkin painting, and both boys’ ultimate favorite, free popcorn. Zach takes off for open field at a dash with me trailing behind, and I smile and wave at familiar faces out on this gorgeous fall afternoon.

It’s just another day at Halloween Fest, one of Brick Special Education PTA’s many fabulous annual events (hosted along with Brick Recreation), and we’re all lucky to be here.

As I head back from the hayride I spot Brenda Calderone, current PTA president, and we exchange greetings and I thank her for her efforts to create such a fun day for our families. Brick SEPTA hosts a number of events each year, from Halloweenfest to an Easter Egg Hunt also at Havens Farm, to dances for tweens and teens with disabilities.

They have monthly meetings as well, and it’s often the same core group of parents who attend, so we’ve gotten to know each other a bit throughout the years, and a camaraderie has developed. The parents who attend have children with a wide range of disabilities, from ADHD to Downs Syndrome and others as well. At most meetings we’ve had the privilege of having a school administrator attend, as well as some teachers from the various schools which educate our children.

Traditionally the first meeting in the fall is a “meet and greet”, with a number of agencies attending who cater to families. I particularly enjoyed that particular meeting last year as I won a massage in their raffle (yes, the girl who never wins anything), and other prizes were distributed as well.

Free donuts AND door prizes, you can’t beat that.

I’m writing about the Brick SEPTA today to invite more parents to attend their next meeting, which will be held at the Brick Primary Learning Center (PLC), on Monday, October 28th, from 6:30 to 8:30. I write this knowing it’s difficult for even the most “typical” families to spare a parent in the evenings, and for those of us with kids with disabilities it can often be a Herculean effort to get out for even an hour.

The truth is however that this is a wonderful avenue in which to come together as a community to learn from one another, to share, and to provide support. I’d love to see it grow. Every year the SEPTA Board has worked incredibly hard to provide activities for children with special needs, and my own children have enjoyed their events with gusto. The Board hopes to add even more activities throughout the year, and I know they’d love greater participation and a larger attendance at all of their meetings.

Again, the next meeting is Monday, October 28th, 6:30 at the PLC, and if anyone reading this has the opportunity to attend, I truly recommend you do so. Thanks in advance for attending!

Follow Brick SEPTA at Brick Town Special Education PTA SEPTA

Leave a Reply

